CPL 2024: Antigua & Barbuda Falcons announce squad, Mohammad Amir among three Pakistan stars included

Mohammad Amir

Antigua & Barbuda Falcons have announced their squad for the upcoming season of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL). They will play in the CPL for the first time this year after replacing three-time champion Jamaica Tallawahs in the league.

The owners of the Jamaica-based franchise dissolved the team citing unsustainability issues. In early February of this year, the Tallawahs’ replacement was unveiled as the new team in February of this year. The Falcons will play their home matches at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua.

The team will feature several global stars including Pakistani trio Mohammad Amir, Imad Wasim and Fakhar Zaman. All three players are currently playing for Pakistan in the ongoing T20 World Cup 2024. Apart from them, the Falcons will also enlist the services of Australian all-rounder Chris Green and Afghan star Azmatullah Omarzai for the CPL 2024.

The 12-member team announced by the franchise also includes Brandon King and Fabian Allen. Both King and Allen are part of the West Indies team currently playing in the 2024 T20 World Cup. The other local players in the team are Hayden Walsh and Shamar Springer. The Falcons will have to fill five more spots in the CPL draft, scheduled for next month.

Antigua and Barbuda Falcons Squad:

Imad Wasim, Brandon King, Fabian Allen, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Amir, Chris Green, Fakhar Zaman, Hayden Walsh, Shamar Springer, Kelvin Pitman, Jewel Andrew, Joshua James

Meanwhile, CPL 2024 is scheduled to be played from August 29 to October 6. The games will be played in six Caribbean host countries: Trinidad and Tobago, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Guyana, Barbados, Antigua and Barbuda and Saint Lucia.

A total of six teams (Antigua & Barbuda Falcons, Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St Kitts & Nevis Patriots, Saint Lucia Kings and Trinbago Knight Riders) will participate in the upcoming tournament. The Guyana Amazon Warriors are the defending champions.