RR vs KKR: Shreyas Iyer writes history and becomes the first captain to lead KKR to the top of the table in IPL

Shreyas Iyer

Shreyas Iyer has scripted history by becoming the first captain to lead Kolkata Knight Riders to a top-of-the-table finish in the history of the Indian Premier League. The two-time IPL champions will finish on top of the points table regardless of the outcome of their final league match of the ongoing IPL 2024.

KKR’s top spot was confirmed after Rajasthan Royals suffered a defeat against Punjab Kings on Wednesday (May 15). KKR is currently on top of the points table with 19 points from 13 matches. RR, for its part, occupies second place with 16 points out of 16 points.

Since KKR and RR will face each other in their last league match, even if the latter wins the match, they will finish the league phase with 18 points, one point less than the Shreyas Iyer-led team’s tally. KKR had never managed to finish at the top of the points table despite having won the title twice.

Shreyas Iyer’s historic feat:

From 2008 to 2010, KKR failed to make the playoffs until they finally did so in 2011, finishing fourth. In 2012, Gautam Gambhir led KKR to their IPL title, although they finished second in the points table. In 2013, KKR finished seventh before winning the title again in 2014, after finishing second in the points table.

From 2015 to 2023, they failed to finish higher than third in the points table before finally ending their long wait for a first-place finish this year. Under Shreyas Iyer, KKR has looked unstoppable this season and will look to go all the way this year.

KKK league position in each season:

Season League position
2008 6th of 8
2009 eighth of 8
2010 6th of 8
2011 4th of 10
2012 2nd of 9
2013 7th of 9
2014 2nd of 8
2015 5th of 8
2016 4th of 8
2017 3rd of 8
2018 3rd of 8
2019 5th of 8
2020 5th of 8
2021 4th of 8
2022 7th out of 10
2023 7th out of 10
2024 1st of 10

KKR have also secured their place in the qualifying phase, meaning they will have two chances to reach the finals. If they win the first qualifier, they will qualify for the final. If they lose, they will have another chance and will play against the winner of the Qualifiers.