SRH vs RR: Travis Head script story, breaks Adam Gilchrist’s long-standing record by completing 400 powerplay runs in IPL 2024

Travis Head

Travis Head has been in impressive form in the current Indian Premier League (IPL) season. His form is one of the reasons why Sunrisers Hyderabad have performed so well this season.

After finishing at the bottom of the points table last year, the Hyderabad-based team qualified for the playoffs this season and can go all the way if they can win two more games. Travis Head led the charge with the bat for SRH in their comeback season in the IPL.

He had not played in the tournament since 2017 and has announced his return in style. No batsman has scored more runs than him for SRH this season. Overall, Travis Head is the fourth highest run-scorer in IPL 2024 behind Virat Kohli and Ruturaj Gaikwad. Before the ongoing second qualifier against Sunrisers Hyderabad, he had scored an impressive 533 runs in 13 games with the help of a century and four fifties.

Travis Head creates history:

Travis Head, on Friday (May 24), made history by breaking the legendary Adam Gilchrist’s long-standing record of reaching the most boundaries on the power play in a season. Gilchrist had hit a staggering 72 boundaries in the powerplay in 2009 when he led the now-defunct Deccan Chargers to their first IPL title.

After that, only two players managed to touch the 70 mark, but none of them could surpass Gilchrist’s record before Head made history. In 2016, David Warner became the second player to reach the 70 boundaries mark in the powerplay. The Australian star had also hit 72 boundaries that season while leading Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Later, Yashasvi Jaiswal reached 70 boundaries in IPL 2023. And in the ongoing season, Head reached the top of the list by reaching his 73rd boundary. He achieved the feat during the second qualifier match against Rajasthan Royals. The left-hander also became the second player after David Warner to score 400 runs in the powerplay in a season.

Most powerplay runs in an IPL edition
467 – David Warner, 2016 (SR: 150.16)
402 – Travis’s Head, 2024 (SR: 209.37)*
382 – Adam Gilchrist, 2009 (SR: 165.36)
374 – Jos Buttler, 2022 (SR: 133.57)
373 – Virat Kohli, 2024 (SR: 161.47)

Talking about the game, SRH were 104 for 4 in the 12th over at the time of writing this report. Head started but failed to convert it into a big score and were out for 34. The winner of the ongoing game will play Kolkata Knight Riders in the final on Sunday (May 26).