Virat Kohli added but Rohit Sharma and Rishabh Pant excluded as Harsha Bhogle named IPL 2024 Team of the Tournament

Harsha Bhogle

Cricket voice Harsha Bhogle has named his Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 team. The reputed commentator did not name Mumbai Indians batsman Rohit Sharma or Delhi Capitals captain Rishabh Pant in the team chosen by him.

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) batsman Virat Kohli will open the innings in Harsha Bhogle’s IPL team. The batsman was the tournament’s leading run-getter with 741 runs to his name and also scored a century and five and a half centuries.

Sunil Narine achieved it as his team’s second opener. The Kolkata Knight Riders star won the Player of the Tournament award as he scored around 500 runs in the tournament and also picked crucial wickets with the ball. At number 3, Sanju Samson got a place in Harsha Bhogle’s team.

The Rajasthan Royals captain scored 531 runs to his name at a strike rate of around 153. He also scored 5 half-centuries. His teammate Riyan Parag was backed by Bhogle at number 4. He scored 573 runs in the 16 matches he played in the tournament.

Harsha Bhogle then got confused between Heinrich Klassen and Nicholas Pooran as his team’s wicketkeeper-batsman. But due to his six-hit ability and being left-handed, the renowned commentator opted for Pooran, who was magnificent with the bat for the Lucknow Super Giants. The Caribbean player scored 499 runs with a huge strike rate of around 175.

At number 6, Kolkata Knight Riders all-rounder Andre Russell joined the team. Harsha Bhogle was impressed by his strike rate and also the wickets he got. The all-rounder claimed 12 wickets at an average of around 17.

Trent Boult and Jasprit Bumrah were two frontline fast bowlers in Harsha Bhogle’s IPL 2024 tournament team. While the Rajasthan Royals bowler oozed class with the ball in the powerplay, Bumrah was the third leading wicket-taker in the tournament. Although Mumbai Indians did not have a great tournament, he was the shining light for the team.

Sunrisers Hyderabad pacer T Natarajan was the team’s third seamer picked by Harsha Bhogle. He supported the left-arm pacer because he was impressed with the way he bowled in the tournament where all the players were taken to the clean-up. Varun Chakravarthy, who was the second leading wicket-taker in IPL 2024 with 21 wickets, is the second spinner in his team along with Narine.

He also backed Dinesh Karthik as his team’s finisher. The wicketkeeper-batsman was exceptional for RCB in the league and won quite a few games for his team with his brutal batting and asked for his retirement after the league.

Harsha Bhogle’s IPL 2024 Tournament Team

Here is Harsha Bhogle’s IPL 2024 Tournament Team

Virat Kohli, Sunil Narine, Sanju Samson, Riyan Parag, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik, Jasprit Bumrah, Varun Chakravarthy, Trent Boult, T Natarajan