Women’s Premier League 2024 to start on February 22 in Bengaluru: reports

Women's Premier League franchise Mumbai Indians

After the success of the first edition of the Women’s Premier League, according to RevSportz, the second edition of the tournament will begin on February 22 in Bengaluru. The final of the tournament will be played in New Delhi. The WPL is one of the biggest T20 leagues in the history of women’s cricket, with almost all the biggest names in the world coming out and playing in the league.

Mumbai Indians led by Harmanpreet Kaur They are the current champions of the Women’s Premier League and their objective will be to defend their title in the second edition of the tournament. On the other hand, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals and Gujarat Giants are also the main contenders to lift the title this season.

Women’s Premier League to start on February 22: reports

The first edition of First women’s division It was played at two venues which were DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai and Brabourne Stadium in Bengaluru. However, in the coming seasons there is a possibility that the five-team tournament will have an increase in venues and each team will play its games home and away.

This includes M. Chinnaswamy Stadium for Royal Challengers Bangalore in Bengaluru, Arun Jaitely Stadium in New Delhi for Delhi Capitals, Ekana Stadium for UP Warriorz in Lucknow, Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad for Gujarat Giants and Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai for the Mumbai Indians.

The Women’s Premier League 2023 final was played between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals while UP Warriorz finished third in the tournament. The Gujarat Giants came very close to qualifying for the playoffs but ended up losing to UP Warriorz.

On the other hand, Royal Challengers Bangalore, which had several big names like Ellyse Perry, Sophie Devine and captain Smriti Mandhana, performed poorly in the tournament.

The Women’s Premier League can also be considered the largest T20 league in the world. After the Women’s T20 Blast in England and the WBBL in Australia, BCCI also decided to start the T20 league, looking at the performance of the players in the last few years.

Before WPL, BCCI used to conduct a women’s T20 challenge between 3 teams during the Indian Premier League. However, the WPL proved to be a huge success in the first edition and its brand value is expected to rise again in the second season.

Like the Indian Premier League, the inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League produced stars like Shreyanka Patil and Saika Ishaque. Eyes will now be on players like Vrinda Dinesh, Uma Chetry, Kashvee Gautam and Mannat Kashya who will try to play well for their team and also make a place for themselves in the Indian women’s cricket team.