DC vs RR: Revealed – Why are Dhruv Jurel and Shimron Hetmyer not playing today’s IPL 2024 match and who replaced them?

Dhruv Jurel, Shimron Hetmyer

Rajasthan Royals will look to get back to winning ways against Delhi Capitals on Tuesday (May 7). Both the teams are facing off in the 56th match of the ongoing Indian Premier League 2024 (IPL 2024) at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.

RR come into this game after suffering a defeat in their last game against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Chasing 202 runs, RR put up a good effort but ultimately fell short by 1 run as they finished on 200 for 7 in the allotted 20 overs. It was his second loss in ten games this season.

With the playoff race and the top two spots heating up, the Sanju Samson-led team will be desperate for a win tonight to seal their spot in the next round. A win tonight will take them to 18 points and make them the first team to qualify for the IPL 2024 playoffs.

Shimron Hetmyer and Dhruv Jurel are unavailable:

RR, however, will have to win the game without their middle-order batsmen Shimron Hetmyer and Dhruv Jurel. Speaking during the toss, captain Sanju Samson confirmed that both batsmen were unavailable due to issues. They have been replaced by Shubham Dubey and Donovan Ferreira in the RR playing XI.

“We would like to bowl first, it seems like a good ground to chase. We feel comfortable doing both. The atmosphere in the team is what pleases me, we have great characters and of course winning helps. Dhruv and Hetmyer are not available. Dubey and Donovan are in,” Samson said after winning the toss and opting to pitch first.

Like RR, DC also come into this game having lost their last game and will be desperate to win again to stay in playoff contention. DC suffered a seven-wicket defeat against Kolkata Knight Riders in their last game.

Playing XI:

Capitals of Delhi:

Jake Fraser-McGurk, Abishek Porel, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Gulbadin Naib, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed

Rajasthan Royals:

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (with), Riyan Parag, Donovan Ferreira, Rovman Powell, Shubham Dubey, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal

Read More: IPL 2024 Points Table