DC vs RR: Yuzvendra Chahal writes history and becomes first Indian bowler to take 350 T20 wickets

Yuzvendra Chahal

Yuzvendra Chahal, on Tuesday (May 7), wrote history by becoming the first Indian player to take 350 wickets in T20. The player achieved a great milestone during the match between Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Capitals at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.

The Indian star needed just one wicket to enter the 350-wicket club in the shortest format of the game and he did it in style. Yuzvendra Chahal dismissed his India teammate and Delhi Capitals captain Rishabh Pant to complete 350 T20 wickets. He has achieved the feat in his 301st T20 game.

The other Indian bowlers to take 300 T20 wickets are Piyush Chawla and Ravichandran Ashwin. While Chawla has acquired 310 wickets so far, Ashwin has 306 wickets. Bhuvneshwar Kumar is fourth in the list with 297 wickets, followed by Amit Mishra who has taken 285 T20 wickets so far.

Most wickets for India in T20:

Yuzvendra Chahal: 350 Piyush Chawla: 310 Ravichandran Ashwin: 306 Bhuvneshwar Kumar: 297 Amit Mishra: 285

The overall record is held by former West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo, who brought down the curtain on his illustrious T20 career after taking a staggering 625 wickets. No other bowler in the world has managed to reach the 600-wicket mark so far.

Afghanistan superstar Rashid Khan is second in the list of most T20 wickets with 572 wickets to his name, followed by Sunil Narine who has taken 549 wickets so far. Imran Tahir (502) and Shakib Al Hasan (482) complete the top five.

Yuzvendra Chahal first to 200 IPL wickets:

At the beginning of the ongoing IPL 2024, Yuzvendra Chahal also became the first bowler in IPL history to take 200 wickets. He achieved a notable feat by dismissing Mohammad Nabi during the match against Mumbai Indians in Jaipur last month.

Chahal has performed well this season so far. In 11 games so far, he has taken 14 wickets and will look to end the season on a high. His good run this season also helped him find a place in India’s squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024.