ICC World Cup Winners List From 1975 To 2019

ICC World Cup 2023, ICC World Cup Points Table

List of ICC World Cup winners from 1975 to 2019. The ICC World Cup or ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup is definitely the biggest event in the world of cricket. One of the most watched sporting events on the planet, the event is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) every four years.

The first edition of the World Cup took place in 1975 in England. England also hosted the next two editions before the World Cup finally moved outside of Europe. In 1987, the event was co-sponsored by India and Pakistan. It was in this edition that the matches were reduced from 60 or more per ticket to more than 50 per ticket.

In 1992 Australia and New Zealand co-sponsored the competition. This edition saw a number of changes to the tournament such as colored clothing, games played with the white ball instead of the red one, day and night matches, etc. In 1996, the World Cup again returned to the subcontinent with India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka as co-hosts.

3 years later, the tournament returned to English shores before being held for the first time in Africa in 2003. The West Indies first hosted the competition in 2007 before India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh co-hosted in 2011. In 2015 , Australia and New Zealand co-hosted the ICC World Cup for the second time and the first time since 1992. 4 years later, England hosted the tournament again after a gap of two decades.

List of ICC World Cup winners:

Talking about ICC World Cup winners, the West Indies won the first edition in 1975 by beating Australia in the final. 4 years later, they defended their title by beating England in the final. In the third edition, India prevented the West Indies from completing a hat-trick of World Cup victories and won their first title.

Australia won their first World Cup in 1987 before Pakistan won it in 1992. In 1996, Arjuna Ranatunga led Sri Lanka to a historic triumph. 3 years later, Australia’s World Cup dominance began when they won the first of three consecutive World Cups. Ricky Ponting led Australia to win the World Cup in 2003 and 2007.

The 2011 World Cup marked the beginning of local domination. India became the first team to win the coveted title on home soil before Australia and England replicated the feat in 2015 and 2019 respectively. Australia is the most successful team in ICC World Cup history, having won it 5 times.

Other than Australia, only the West Indies and India have won multiple World Cup titles. Both India and the West Indies have won the trophy twice. The other World Cup winners are Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England.

List of ICC World Cup winners and runners-up:

Year Winner runner-up
1975 West Indies Australia
1979 West Indies England
1983 India West Indies
1987 Australia England
1992 Pakistan England
nineteen ninety six Sri Lanka Australia
1999 Australia Pakistan
2003 Australia India
2007 Australia Sri Lanka
2011 India Sri Lanka
2015 Australia New Zealand
2019 England New Zealand

Here is a team list showing the performance of the teams that reached the World Cup final:

Equipment Winners runner-up years gained years runner-up
Australia 5 2 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015 1975, 1996
West Indies 2 1 1975, 1979 1983
India 2 1 1983, 2011 2003
Pakistan 1 1 1992 1999
Sri Lanka 1 2 nineteen ninety six 2007, 2011
England 1 3 2019 1979, 1987, 1992
New Zealand 0 2 2015, 2019

Man of the match in the final list of the ICC World Cup:

Year Player performance details
1975 Clive Lloyd 102
1979 Vivi Richards 138*
1983 mohinder amarnath 3/12 and 26
1987 David Bon 75
1992 Wasim Akram 33 and 3/49
nineteen ninety six Aravinda de Silva 107* and 3/42
1999 shane warne 4/33
2003 ricky ponting 140*
2007 adam gilcristo 149
2011 MS Dhoni 91*
2015 james faulkner 3/36
2019 Ben Stokes 84* and 0/20

List of ICC World Cup winning captains:

Speaking of World Cup winning captains, West Indies legend Clive Lloyd was the first captain to lift the title in 1975. 4 years later, Lloyd led the West Indies to victory again. To date only he and Ricky Ponting have won more than one World Cup as captain.

List of ICC World Cup winning captains:

Year Captain Country
1975 Clive Lloyd West Indies
1979 Clive Lloyd West Indies
1983 Kapil Dev India
1987 allan border Australia
1992 Imran Khan Pakistan
nineteen ninety six arjuna ranatunga Sri Lanka
1999 Steve Waugh Australia
2003 ricky ponting Australia
2007 ricky ponting Australia
2011 MS Dhoni India
2015 michael clarke Australia
2019 john morgan England