ICC World Test Championship Final: ICC Announces Prize Money Amount For WTC Final Winner And Runners-up

Rohit Sharma and Steve Smith

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced prize money for the winners and runners-up of the World Test Championship final, to be played between India and Australia at The Oval in London from June 7-11, with one day of Booking available June 12.

India qualified for the WTC final for the second time in a row. The Men in Blue lost to New Zealand in the inaugural edition at the Rose Bowl in Southampton. Australia, on the other hand, convincingly qualified for their first final as WTC leader.

Also read: MLC 2023: Just to be clear, my priority is England cricket: Jason Roy discusses his future with English cricket

LPI 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Today’s Cricket Match Prediction | cricket news | Live cricket score

The winner of the WTC final will receive 1.6 million dollars

The winner of the 2023 WTC final will receive $1.6 million (Rs 13.23 crore) prize money, while the runners-up will get $800,000 (Rs 6.61 crores). The amount of the prize remains the same as that of the first edition of the championship (2019-21) with a total purse of $3.8 million.

The Kane Williamson-led New Zealand team won $1.6 million in prize money for their eight-wicket win against India in a rain-affected match in the previous edition. The Black Caps were awarded the Mace two years ago, which was their first ICC trophy win.

LPI 2023 | India national cricket team | Chennai Super Kings (CSK) | Capitals of Delhi (DC) | Gujarat Titans (GT) | Knights Riders of Calcutta (KKR) | Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) | Mumbai Indians (MI) | Punjab Kings (PBKS) | Rajasthan Royals (RR) | Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) | Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

The nine teams participating in the 2021-23 WTC cycle will get a share of a total purse of $3.8 million based on their place in the points table. South Africa will earn $450,000 after finishing in third place at the end of the ongoing WTC cycle in the longest format.

England will receive $350,000 as they finished fourth in the standings, while Sri Lanka, who was in fifth place, will receive $200,000. Sixth-place New Zealand, seventh-place Pakistan, eighth-place West Indies and ninth-place Bangladesh will win $100,000 each.

Also read: IPL 2023: Rohit Sharma is fostering one of the country’s gems – Manish Kumar Jha on Akash Madhwal’s rise in the cash-rich league

India will be hoping to end their ICC trophy drought by winning the match against Australia in England. The winner of the final match between India and Australia will get the test mace. The Men in Blue won their last Champions Trophy title in 2013 under the captaincy of MS Dhoni.

Also read: Maybe we could have won if I had kept fit and bowled: Shaheen Shah Afridi on T20 World Cup 2022 final

virat kohli | rohit sharma | Rishabh trousers | Raul KL | Suryakumar Yadav | sanju samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah