IND vs AFG Match Preview: 3rd T20I, 2024

India T20 team for Afghanistan series

The climax of Afghanistan’s tour of India 2024 has arrived. India and Afghanistan will clash in the third T20I of the ongoing T20I series. The third T20I clash between IND and AFG will take place on Wednesday, January 17.

The IND vs AFG 3rd T20I is expected to be a high-scoring game as it will be held at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. So far, India has managed to dominate Afghanistan in the IND vs AFG T20I series by winning both matches.

India beat Afghanistan by 6 wickets in both matches. In the first T20I, Afghanistan could only score 158-5 in the first innings at the IS Bindra Stadium, which was not enough to get a win. The visitors came up with a better show in the second game, scoring 172. However, the Indian batsmen managed to clinch the victory with ease.

Also Read: Shivam Dube says he is not worried about selection for T20 World Cup in June

In head-to-head matchups in T20Is, Afghanistan has never surpassed India. Both teams have faced each other in 7 T20I matches. India won 6 games and 1 ended without result. Therefore, Afghanistan still wants their first victory against India in the shortest format.

For India, young batsmen like Shivam Dube, Tilak Varma, Jitesh Sharma, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Rinku Singh have shown magnificent form in the IND vs AFG T20I series. Among the bowlers, Arshdeep Singh, Axar Patel, Mukesh Kumar and Ravi Bishnoi have done excellent teamwork in bowling.

Also Read: Ravi Bishnoi is just different, Axar Patel is very precise – Muttiah Muralitharan

IND vs AFG Match Preview: 3rd T20I, 2024


Rohit Sharma is the captain of India in the IND vs AFG T20I series and will lead the team in the third T20I clash. After two matches, Shivam Dube is the team’s leading run-getter with 123 runs. He hit fifties in both matches. Yashasvi Jaiswal is next with 68 runs.

In the bowling department, Axar Patel has picked the most 4 wickets for the team in 2 matches. Arshdeep Singh follows with 3 wickets. Shivam Dube, Mukesh Kumar and Ravi Bishnoi took 2 wickets each.

IND Team: Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shivam Dube, Jitesh Sharma, Rinku Singh, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Sanju Samson, Tilak Varma, Kuldeep Yadav .,Avesh Khan.

Also Read: Virat Kohli fan arrested for hugging and touching his feet in 2nd T20I


In the absence of Rashid Khan, Ibrahim Zadran is captaining Afghanistan in the IND vs AFG T20I series. After 2 games. Gulbadin Naib is the team’s leading run-getter with 57 runs. Mohammad Nabi follows with 56 runs.

Among the bowlers, Karim Janat and Mujeeb Ur Rahman have taken 2 wickets each in 2 games. Azmatullah Omarzai, Fazalhaq Farooqi and Naveen-ul-Haq have 1 wicket each.

Also Read: Watch: Afghanistan players review Shivam Dube’s bat after his brutal fifty in 2nd T20I

AFG Team: Ibrahim Zadran (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Noor Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Hazratullah Zazai, Fareed Ahmad Malik, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Ikram Alikhil, Qais Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem Safi, Rahmat Shah.