India’s T20 squad for Zimbabwe tour likely to depart on this date, Shubman Gill yet to join team

Shubman Gill, Riyan Parag, and Abhishek Sharma

While the T20 World Cup 2024 is underway, the Indian team for the tour of Zimbabwe is preparing for the respective tour. The team is believed to leave for Zimbabwe on July 1.

Currently, some target players are at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru for their high performance camp. The 15-member team will meet in Mumbai before leaving for Zimbabwe.

Some of the players in the camp have left for Chennai to take part in the ongoing premier league while the other players will return home on Tuesday (July 25).

Riyan Parag and Dhruv Jurel are two youngsters who have earned a call-up to the national team for this series. While Dhruv Jurel has already played three Tests, this will be Riyan Parag’s first series in India.

Both Parag and Jurel already left the NCA this weekend. Both the players are likely to spend a week at the Rajasthan Royals’ high performance center in Talegaon. Both youngsters play for Rajasthan Royals in the IPL.

Also Read: ‘This is the real Rohit Sharma, I haven’t seen better entertainment’ – Father of Indian batting entertainment praises Indian captain

Some Indian players will join the team later.

Meanwhile, the travel schedule of Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson, Rinku Singh and Khaleel Ahmed will be finalized once India’s 2024 T20 World Cup campaign is over. These four players are currently in the West Indies with India’s T20 World Cup squad.

While Jaiswal and Samson are part of India’s 15-member squad for the tournament, Rinku Singh and Khaleel Ahmed are part of the reserves. If India make it to the final on June 29, all these players will fly directly to Zimbabwe from the West Indies.

Young opener Shubman Gill will lead India on this tour. Gill was also part of India’s traveling reserves for the T20 World Cup 2024. But he was released after India’s final group match against Canada in Florida.

Gill is reportedly yet to return to India as he had some business commitments in the United States. He was spotted last week at Nike’s headquarters in Oregon. He is likely to join the Indian team directly in Zimbabwe. There could be a last-minute change in Gill’s travel plan, but it is unlikely that he will come to India for now.

Along with Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Shubman Gill, Avesh Khan was another member of India’s traveling reserves. However, it is believed that Avesh had already returned home.

India will play five T20Is in Zimbabwe. They have picked a second team for the tour, while NCA president VVS Laxman will accompany them. All matches will be played in Harare.

Riyan Parag, Nitish Reddy and Tushar Deshpande are the only players in the team who have been called up for India for the first time. All these players were selected based on their fantastic performances in IPL 2024.

India T20I squad for Zimbabwe tour 2024

Shubman Gill (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (week), Dhruv Jurel (week), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar , Tushar Deshpande