IPL 2024: “It Was Sudden”- Ambati Rayudu On Sharing IPL 2023 Trophy With MS Dhoni On Stage

Ambati Rayudu - MS Dhoni

Ambati Rayudú he won his second IPL title with Chennai Super Kings at IPL 2023. Overall, it was CSK’s fifth IPL title under MS Dhoni. Rayudu played an important cameo scoring 19 off 8 balls when things got tough late on. CSK needed 4 for 1 ball with Ravindra Jadeja making the winning runs.

Rayudu scored 1932 runs for CSK in 90 games, including one hundred and eight fifty. He averaged 29.72 and had a 129.32 strike rate for the franchise.

In an interview with Behindwoods TV, Rayudu was asked about sharing the stage with Dhoni and Jadeja as the trio lifted the IPL 2023 title together. Rayudu, who was always considered a team man, had a good response.

Also Read: IPL 2024: IPL Brand Value Soars To USD 3 Billion – Reports

We stole the trophy from the Gujarat titans: Ambati Rayudu

“It was sudden. He wanted to share the feeling of happiness with us. It was special to me as I have played with it for so long. Lifting the trophy with CSK was very special” said the former MI and CSK cricketer.

“Winning the trophy itself was huge and this (stage) was the icing on the cake. The way we beat the Gujarat Titans, who have been playing so well for the last two years, I would say was a steal. We stole the trophy (laughs)” further added.

Also Read: IPL 2024: LSG part ways with head coach Andy Flower

The veteran cricketer revealed that he knew that the 2023 IPL season would be his final season and thus closing his career with a win was the most memorable thing to happen.

“I had decided that it was my last IPL and I wanted to end it with a win. For me it was doubly emotional. It is a great challenge to win the IPL in a period of two months. When you do all that and you know it’s your last IPL, and then you get to the final and you have a chance to win and win, I couldn’t control my emotions. concluded by saying

Ambati Rayudu won six IPL titles in his career, three with Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings.

Also read: IPL 2023: Best Australian XI of the tournament