Massive revelation: Rohit Sharma was on the verge of sacrificing his Rs 125 crore BCCI bonus fund for…

Rohit Sharma 125 Crore India BCCI

Indian captain Rohit Sharma is known to be a big-hearted man. Once again, Rohit proved how much he cares not only for himself but also for the people around him. After Rahul Dravid showed a heartwarming gesture, Rohit also prepared to forgo his 5 crore Indian Rupees bonus awarded to him by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) after India’s victory in the 2024 T20 World Cup.

India won the trophy by defeating South Africa in the final on June 29 at the Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados. This was the first ICC trophy that India had won in 11 years. Therefore, the BCCI decided to felicitate the team by awarding it a huge cash prize.

The prize money was handed over at a jubilant ceremony organised by the board at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. Thousands of people lined the streets and the stadium to watch their heroes take home the trophy.

Also Read: Chandrakant Pandit issues official statement on talks over Abhishek Nayar’s future with KKR and Team India

Rohit Sharma shows heartwarming gesture for support staff

According to a report by Dainik Bhaskar, Rohit Sharma was not happy with the amount of prize money given to one of the support staff members. Rohit even said that that amount can be deducted from his prize money to increase the prize money given to the support staff.

The incident was narrated by one of the Indian team’s support staff members, but it is not clear which support staff member Rohit was referring to.

The report also stated that one of the members praised Rohit Sharma and said that he knows how to appreciate the support staff members. The member was travelling with the Barbados team to Delhi with the champion team.

How much did the BCCI award to the Indian team?

The prize money of Rs 125 crore awarded by the BCCI is six times more than the amount given by the ICC to the winning team. It is even more than the total prize money of the tournament of Rs 93.52 crore.

BCCI had earlier confirmed that each of the 15 players in Team India will receive INR 5 Crore each while the coaching staff comprising batting coach Vikram Rathour, bowling coach Paras Mhambrey and fielding coach T Dilip will receive INR 2.5 Crore each.

The support staff will get INR 2 Crore, while chief selector Ajit Agarkar and the reserve players of the team will get INR 1 Crore each.

Earlier, head coach Rahul Dravid was also due to receive INR 50 crore but he refused and asked for the same prize money as the rest of the coaching team. Apart from Dravid, other members of the coaching team also played a key role in India’s title win.

A young Indian team, led by Shubman Gill, is currently playing a five-match T20I series against Zimbabwe. Now that Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja have announced their retirement from T20Is, it is time for the next generation of players to take over.