PBKS vs RCB: Virat Kohli creates history by leaving behind Rohit Sharma and David Warner in elite list

Virat Kohli

Continuing his excellent form in the Indian Premier League 2024 (IPL 2024), Virat Kohli, on Thursday (May 9), starred with the bat once again to put Royal Challengers Bengaluru in the driving seat against Punjab Kings in Himachal Pradesh. Cricket stadium in Dharamsala.

The right-handed batsman played a brilliant knock of 92 runs to help RCB recover from a shaky start to post a disheartening total of 241/7 after he was asked to bat first. RCB got off to a disastrous start when Vidhwath Kaverappa dismissed their captain Faf du Plessis (9) and Will Jacks (12) in the powerplay.

However, the former Indian captain stood tall at one end to lead RCB to the grand total. He and Rajat Patidar steadied the ship with a 76-run stand before the latter departed for 55. After Patidar’s departure, Kohli took charge and took RCB to the 200-run mark before being dismissed in the 18th over. by Arshdeep Singh.

Kohli’s 92-run knock came off 47 balls and was studded with seven fours and six sixes. It is only the second time in the IPL that Kohli was dismissed in the 90s. He was last dismissed in the 90s in 2013, when he missed his first IPL century by just 1 run against Delhi Capitals.

Virat Kohli creates history:

Virat Kohli has added another feather to his already illustrious cap with his impressive knock of 92 runs against PBKS. The former RCB captain now holds the record of scoring 1000 or more runs against the maximum number of teams in the IPL.

He has now scored 1000 runs against three different teams in the tournament. Earlier, he had scored 1000 runs against Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Capitals before doing so against PBKS as well.

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and David Warner jointly held the record of scoring 1000 or more runs against the maximum number of teams. Virat Kohli has now moved ahead of both Rohit and Warner. He also became the second player to score at least 1000 runs against PBKS after Warner.

Over 1000 runs against most opponents in IPL

  • 3 – Virat Kohli vs CSK, DC and PBKS
  • 2 – Rohit Sharma vs DC and KKR
  • 2 – David Warner vs. KKR and PBKS