“RCB couldn’t even chase Mayank Yadav’s top speed” – Twitter reacts as Virat Kohli-starrer team loses to LSG in IPL 2024

RCB vs LSG, IPL 2024 TR

He Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) faced the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in the 15th match of the Indian Premier League 2024 (IPL 2024) on April 2, 2024 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Bengaluru won the toss and elected to bowl first in the home match. RCB and LSG made notable changes to their game with the home team bringing in Reece Topley for Alzarri Joseph and KL Rahul & Co. replacing the injured Mohsin Khan with Yash Thakur.

Rahul came straight back into the playing eleven after playing the last match as an impact player. He joined Quinton de Kock at the top and watched the latter bowl down the RCB players in the powerplay. Rahul was, as always, quite cautious in his approach but De Kock’s blitz helped LSG post a score of 54/1 at the end of the powerplay. The Super Giants also lost their captain on the third ball of the sixth over for 20.

Devdutt Padikkal then came to bat and failed to get going, resulting in LSG’s NRR falling and RCB coming back in the match. Padikkal’s miserable innings came to an end in the ninth over and the top-order batsman was dismissed for an 11-ball 6. At the end of 10 overs, LSG were at 84/2.

The arrival of Marcus Stoinis in the middle provided a much-needed boost in the run rate to LSG as he bowled aggressively and scored 24 runs off 15 balls during his 56-run partnership with Quinton de Kock.

Opening batsman De Kock fell short of his century when Topley dismissed him for 81. In the end, Nicholas Pooran played an explosive 40-run innings to guide LSG to a grand total of 181/5.

Chasing the target in the match, Royal Challengers Bengaluru had a poor start in the match as they lost KGF (Kohli, Glenn and Faf) in the powerplay. If that wasn’t enough, Cameron Green also got out in the eighth over.

Virat Kohli (22) was dismissed by Manimaran Siddharth, Faf du Plessis (19) was run out, while bowling sensation Mayank Yadav cleaned up Glenn Maxwell and Cameron Green. Rajat Patidar and Anuj Rawat then had a small 36-run partnership that helped RCB stay in the game but the duo couldn’t play big innings.

In the end, Mahipal Lomror scored 33 runs off 13 balls but did not get any support from the other end and RCB were bowled out for 153. For LSG, the best player in the bowling department was once again Mayank Yadav who finished with figures of 3/14. He broke his own record of 155.8 kmph for the fastest ball of IPL 2024 in the match while bowling at 156.7 kmph.

Here’s how X fans reacted after the RCB vs LSG IPL 2024 match: