Rohit Sharma among three Indians nominated for ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Player of the Tournament award

Rohit Sharma

The International Cricket Council (ICC), on Saturday (June 29), announced the names of the eight players nominated for the Player of the Tournament award at the ICC T20 World Cup 2024.

The ninth edition of the T20 World Cup will conclude on Saturday with the final between India and South Africa in Barbados. A record 20 teams took part in the tournament, divided into four groups of five teams each.

The top two teams from each group qualified for the Super 8. India, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Australia were drawn in Group 1, while reigning champions England, West Indies, South Africa and the United States were in Group 2 of the Super 8. The top two teams from each group qualified for the semi-final.

India and Afghanistan made the cut from the first group, while England and South Africa qualified from the other group. In the semi-final, India beat England by 68 runs, while South Africa thrashed Afghanistan by 9 wickets to set up a thrilling clash in the final.

With one match remaining in the tournament, the ICC has announced the eight players in contention for the Player of the Tournament award. Three Indian players have been nominated for the award: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah and Arshdeep Singh.

South Africa also have three players on the list: Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi and Quinton de Kock. The other two players are from Afghanistan: Fazalhaq Farooqi and Rahmanullah Gurbaz.

Before the final, Rohit Sharma scored 248 runs with the help of three half-centuries, including one against England in the semi-final. Bumrah and Arshdeep, on the other hand, have taken 13 and 15 wickets respectively.

Gurbaz is the tournament’s leading run-scorer. He finished his campaign with 281 runs with the help of three fifties. His teammate Farooqi is the leading wicket-taker in the competition with 17 scalps to his name. South Africa’s De Kock has scored 204 runs while Shamsi and Nortje have picked up 11 and 13 wickets respectively.

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Player of the Tournament Candidates:

Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi, Quinton De Kock, Rahmanullah Gurbaz.