Rohit Sharma creates history and breaks Mahela Jayawardene’s long-standing record in T20 World Cup

Rohit Sharma

India captain Rohit Sharma on Thursday (June 27) once again played a captain’s knock in the semi-final of the ongoing ICC T20 World Cup 2024.

After England won the toss and opted to bowl first, the responsibility of leading the team from the front fell on the Indian captain and he did not disappoint. India got off to a disastrous start in the crucial game as Virat Kohli suffered another disastrous outing with the bat. The former India captain couldn’t get going again with the bat and Reece Topley bowled him clean for 9 runs.

India also lost the wicket of Rishabh Pant in the powerplay to find themselves on the back foot. However, Rohit Sharma stood tall at one end and scored a brilliant fifty to set the stage for a good total. He scored 57 runs off 39 balls with the help of 6 fours and 2 sixes before being dismissed by Adil Rashid. Rohit Sharma also shared a 73-run stand with Suryakumar Yadav for the third wicket.

Rohit Sharma creates history:

Rohit Sharma also created history during his 57-run knock against England. The Indian captain broke the record for most fours hit by a player in the T20 World Cup. The record was previously held by Sri Lankan legend Mahela Jayawardene. Rohit broke the record when he hit Adil Rashid for a four.

Most fours by a player in the Men’s T20 World Cup:

  • 113*-Rohit Sharma
  • 111- Mahela Jayawardene
  • 105-Virat Kohli
  • 103- David Warner
  • 101- Tillakaratne Dilshan

Rohit Sharma is also second in the list of most sixes hit by a batsman in the T20 World Cup. While Chris Gayle holds the record of 63 sixes in the competition, Rohit is second on the list with 50 sixes to his name.

Coming into the game, India were 146 for 4 in the 18th over at the time of writing this report. The winner of the ongoing semi-final will face South Africa in the final on Saturday (June 29). Earlier in the tournament, South Africa beat Afghanistan by 9 wickets to reach the final of a T20 World Cup for the first time in their history.