Rohit Sharma should not have been allowed to bat in the second super over – Aakash Chopra

0
21
Rinku Singh and Rohit Sharma


Aakash Chopra feels that Rohit Sharma should not have been allowed to bat in the second Super Over during the third T20I against Afghanistan. Aakash Chopra highlighted that Rohit Sharma was “removed” in the first super over of the final game of the recent series.

Rohit Sharma played a key role in India’s victory in Bengaluru on Wednesday, January 17. He rescued India from a challenging situation with 4/22 and helped the team reach a total of 212 runs. He scored an unbeaten 121 runs off 69 balls, including 11 fours and eight sixes.

Rohit Sharma retired – Aakash Chopra

In a video on his YouTube channel, akash chopra declared that the referees should not have allowed Rohit Sharma participate in the second Super Over, emphasizing that it was against the rules.

“Rohit Sharma was removed. Injured retired means that there must be an external injury on the field of play and there the umpires allow you to bat again. Withdrawn means your innings are over and you can’t come back.” Chopra said.

“So as soon as he came out, I said in the comments that I couldn’t come to bat. He was done because he had lost his wicket. Rinku Singh and Rohit Sharma came back and I thought it was bad. “Rohit Sharma should not have been allowed to bat according to the rules.” he added.

The 36-year-old hit two sixes in the third and fourth deliveries to take the equation to three runs needed off the last two balls. He opted to retire after taking a single off the penultimate ball, bringing Rinku Singh to the crease for a quick run off the last delivery.

However, Rohit Sharma was allowed to bat again in the second Super Over despite being retired. The captain hit a six and a boundary off the first two balls. However, the team lost two wickets off the next three balls, setting a target of 12 runs for Afghanistan.

Sanju Samson had already been dismissed for a duck on the first ball – Aakash Chopra

Aakash Chopra expressed surprise over the Indian team’s decision to field Sanju Samson as the third batsman in the second Super Over instead of Shivam Dube. Chopra highlighted that Shivam Dube could have been a better option, especially against a left-arm pacer.

“Sanju Samson came when Rinku came out and I was shocked. Nothing against Sanju, but he had already been sent off for ducking on the first ball. He didn’t have many opportunities to bat when he came off the first ball.” Chopra further stated.

“Shivam Dube was sitting and you did not send him. Fareed Ahmad was bowling. Dube also accelerates with his left arm. He surprised me. We only scored 11 runs. In fact, we didn’t even play the full six balls, they eliminated us on the fifth pitch.” He concluded.

Ravi Bishnoi ensured India’s victory by conceding just one run and dismissing Mohammad Nabi and Rahmanullah Gurbaz in the first three balls. India completed a 3-0 whitewash in their last T20I series ahead of the 2024 T20 World Cup in the US and West Indies.

Also Read: How did Rohit Sharma bat in the second Super Over despite being retired in the first Super Over against Afghanistan? ICC law explains the rule