Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav ignored as Marcus Stoinis and Mitchell Starc pick their best T20 team of all time

Mitchell Starc, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav and Marcus Stoinis

Australian cricketers Mitchell Starc and Marcus Stoinis named their top T20 cricket team ahead of the match against India in the T20 World Cup 2024. What caught the attention of many was that they did not pick India captain Rohit Sharma and ​​to number 1. T20I batsman Suryakumar Yadav.

In his playing XI, Marcus Stoinis chose Chris Gayle and Shane Watson as two openers. The duo were sensational during their playing days in the shortest format of the game and are highly rated in the shortest format of the game for their prowess with bat and ball.

On the other hand, Mitchell Starc chose Sunil Narine as the opener and his wife Alyssa Healy as the team’s second opener. While Narine is one of the best all-rounders in the shortest format of the game, Healy has been a legend for the Australian women’s team.

At number 3, Starc picked Virat Kohli, while Stoinis named Nicholas Pooran. The Indian batsman is currently the leading batsman in the game of cricket across all three formats. While on the other hand, Pooran is considered as one of the best power batsmen in the game of cricket.

Mitchell Starc then picked Marcus Stoinis as his number 4 player in the T20 team. The all-rounder has been equally fantastic with bat and ball in the format and is currently the No. 1 ranked T20I all-rounder. While on the other hand, Glenn Maxwell came into Stoinis’ team at No. 4.

West Indies legends Kieron Pollard and Andre Russell were picked at No.5 by Starc and Stoinis in their respective teams. The duo has played a lot of T20 cricket around the world and is ranked among the best all-rounders having played the shortest format of the game.

Mitchell Starc also picked the late Andrew Symonds for his team, while Marcus Stoinis named MS Dhoni as his team’s goalkeeper and captain. The former India captain did incredible things for the nation while leading them to victory in the 2007 T20 World Cup.

Former South Africa batsman AB de Villiers was named as a floater by Mitchell Starc in his playing XI, while Tim David was included in the same role by Marcus Stoinis in his team. What caught the attention was the bowling lineup chosen by the left-arm pacer.

Starc did not name any players in his team as he searched for a pace attack. He named Jasprit Bumrah, Jacques Kallis, Dale Steyn and Zaheer Khan in his team. On the other hand, Stoinis picked Rashid Khan and Shane Warne as two spinners along with Lasith Malinga and Mitchell Starc as two pacers.

Marcus Stoinis and Mitchell Starc choose their best T20 team

Here is Mitchell Starc’s best T20 team

Sunil Narine, Alyssa Healy, Virat Kohli, Marcus Stoinis, Kieron Pollard, Andrew Symonds, AB de Villiers, Jasprit Bumrah, Jacques Kallis, Dale Steyn, Zaheer Khan

Here is Marcus Stoinis’ best T20 team

Chris Gayle, Shane Watson, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Andre Russell, MS Dhoni (C), Tim David, Lasith Malinga, Rashid Khan, Mitchell Starc, Shane Warne