Shakib elaborated on the incident and said that one of the Bangladesh fielders informed him that Mathews had taken time to face his first ball and that they could appeal it to the umpire.
“It’s in the laws. I don’t know if it’s right or wrong. But I felt like I was at war. I had to make decisions to make sure my team won and everything I had to do, I had to do.” “Right or wrong, there will be debates. But if it’s in the rules, I don’t mind taking those risks,” Shakib said.
“It’s unfortunate that it happened during a crucial time after the fall of a wicket. Angelo, we were hoping that he would score some runs for us, and it’s disappointing that the umpires couldn’t step in and make good decisions at that time.”
However, Shakib got excited about the incident that took place in the first innings. Chasing Sri Lanka’s 279, the all-rounder scored 82 off 65 balls and finally reached Mathews, who dismissed him.
“I thought [incident] helped [to keep me motivated]. We talked about the fight. I’m 36 years old, that fight doesn’t come all the time. But today that helped in some way, I don’t deny it,” Shakib said.