Shivam Dube receives birthday gift from BCCI; All-rounder replaces Nitish Reddy in India squad for Zimbabwe tour

Nitish Reddy, Shivam Dube

Nitish Reddy will have to wait a little longer to make his debut in international cricket as he has been ruled out of the upcoming five-match T20I series against Zimbabwe. The BCCI announced the news on Wednesday (June 26).

Nitish Reddy earned his first call-up to the Indian team after impressing in IPL 2024. The 21-year-old all-rounder made his IPL debut this year and hit the ground running. He impressed not only with his batting and bowling, but also with his electric fielding.

More than the runs, it was his temperament that impressed many as he delivered under pressure while plying his trade for Sunrisers Hyderabad. The right-handed batsman scored 303 runs in 11 innings, at an average of 33.66 and a strike rate of 142.92. He also got three wickets with his average pace.

Nitish Reddy out of Zimbabwe series:

Nitish Reddy will not be part of India’s squad for the series against Zimbabwe next month, the BCCI has announced. He is currently sidelined with an injury and it is unlikely that he will recover in time for the five-match series.

The BCCI has also named all-rounder Shivam Dube as his replacement. Dube has become the third player in India’s squad for the ongoing T20 World Cup to be named in the squad for the series against Zimbabwe. Earlier, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Sanju Samson were also named in the team.

“The Men’s Selection Committee has named Shivam Dube as a replacement for the injured Nitish Reddy in the Indian squad for the upcoming tour of Zimbabwe. The BCCI medical team is monitoring the progress of Nitish Reddy,” the BCCI said in a statement. press.

Meanwhile, Shubman Gill will lead a young Indian team against Zimbabwe next month. A total of five uncapped players were named in the team, including Reddy. With Reddy out, Abhishek Sharma, Tushar Deshpande, Riyan Parag and Dhruv Jurel are the other uncapped players in the team. The series is scheduled to be played July 6-14.

India team for Zimbabwe series:

Shubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande , Shivam Dube.