SRH vs LSG: SRH create history as they chase highest total inside 10 overs in T20 history

Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma

Sunrisers Hyderabad, on Wednesday (May 8), created history by defeating Lucknow Super Giants by 10 wickets at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

Batting first, LSG posted 165/4 in the allotted 20 overs. The Lucknow-based team had a disastrous start and faltered at 66 for 4 in the 12th over. Even the 150-run mark seemed difficult at that time. However, an unbeaten run of 99 runs between Ayush Badoni (55) and Nicholas Pooran (48) helped them post a competitive total.

The score, however, turned out to be too low in the hand as SRH chased it down with great ease. The Hyderabad-based team chased down 166 runs in less than 10 overs without losing any wicket. Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma scored blistering half-centuries as SRH crossed the finish line in just 9.4 overs.

Head smashed 89 runs off just 30 balls with the help of eight fours and as many sixes. On the other hand, Sharma scored 75 off 28 balls with the help of eight fours and six sixes.

SRH creates history:

By reaching the total in just 9.4 overs, SRH have created history. They now hold the record of reaching the highest total in 10 overs in men’s T20. The previous record was held by Brisbane Heat, who had scored 157 in 10 overs against Melbourne Stars in the Big Bash League in 2019.

SRH now also holds the record of scoring most runs in 10 overs in the IPL. The previous record was also held by them by scoring 158 against Delhi Capitals earlier this season.

Highest total after first 10 overs in IPL:

167/0 (9.4) SRH vs LSG Hyderabad 2024 158/4 SRH vs DC Delhi 2024 148/2 SRH vs MI Hyderabad 2024 141/2 MI vs SRH Hyderabad 2024

SRH also broke Delhi Capitals’ record of winning an IPL game with the most balls to spare while chasing a 100-plus target.

Win with more balls to spare in IPL (more than 100 goals):

62 – SRH vs LSG Hyderabad 2024 (Target: 166) 57 – DC vs PK Brabourne 2022 (Target: 116) 48 – Deccan vs MI Navi Mumbai 2008 (Target: 155)

Meanwhile, the victory took SRH to third place in the points table. They now have seven wins and five losses in IPL 2024 and look set to make it to the playoffs. LSG, for its part, is in sixth position with six wins and as many losses.