Travis Head and Sanju Samson sidelined as Kevin Pietersen reveals his IPL 2024 Team of the Tournament

No Travis Head or Sanju Samson as Kevin Pietersen reveals his IPL 2024 Team of the Tournament

Former England batsman Kevin Pietersen has revealed his Team of the Tournament for IPL 2024. The current IPL season will end on Sunday (May 26) with the final between Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

KKR and SRH have been two of the most dominant teams in the current tournament and have been rewarded for their brave performance with a place in the finals. KKR and SRH finished the league stage in the top two. While KKR finished on top, SRH came second ahead of Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bengaluru.

KKR have already defeated SRH twice and will be looking for a special hat-trick. The Kolkata-based team started their season with a thrilling 4-run win over SRH in March. Earlier this week, they defeated SRH by eight wickets in the first qualifier to reach the final. While KKR will look to continue their dominance over SRH, the latter will hope that the third time is lucky for them.

Kevin Pietersen’s Team of the Tournament for IPL 2024:

Before KKR and SRH meet in the final, Kevin Pietersen has revealed his team of the tournament. The former England captain has named a star-studded team, although there are some notable omissions such as Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Travis Head, Phil Salt and a few other players who have done well this season.

He chose Sunil Narine and Virat Kohli as the openers for his team. Kohli is the season’s leading run-scorer and ended his campaign with 741 runs. On the other hand, Narine has consistently delivered with both bat and ball in IPL 2024. He has scored 482 runs and picked up 16 wickets so far.

For the middle order, Kevin Pietersen picked Rajat Patidar, Shivam Dube, Heinrich Klaasen and Nicholas Pooran. Patidar did not start the season on a good note, but he finished it well by scoring five fifties in his last nine innings. On the other hand, Dube started the season well but struggled towards the end. Overall, he had a good campaign as he scored 396 runs. Pooran ended his campaign with 499 runs.

Kevin Pietersen chose two versatile players in his side: Cameron Green and Andre Russell. Green scored 255 runs and picked up 10 wickets, while Russell scored 222 runs and picked up 16 wickets so far. The English great chose two pacers and a frontline player alongside him. He picked Jasprit Bumrah and Natarajan as pacers and Yuzvendra Chahal as sole spinner.

Kevin Pietersen’s IPL 2024 Tournament Team:

Sunil Narine, Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Shivam Dube, Heinrich Klaasen, Cameron Green, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, T Natarajan.