Virat Kohli creates incredible ICC trophy history as he bids farewell to T20Is in impressive fashion

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli

On Saturday, June 30, Virat Kohli finally managed to get his hands on the ICC T20 World Cup trophy as India defeated South Africa in a thrilling final. The Rohit Sharma-led team won the match by 7 runs to clinch the 2024 T20 World Cup trophy.

The former India captain starred with the bat to rescue the team in the title decider. Having scored just 75 runs in 7 games in the tournament before the final, Virat Kohli scored 76 runs in the final to help India recover from 34 for 3 and score 176 for 7 in the allotted 20 overs. In response, South Africa finished their innings at 169/8 despite being 151/4 after 16 overs.

The T20 World Cup triumph has helped Virat Kohli add another feather to his already illustrious cap. He has completed a unique quadruple of ICC trophies thanks to India’s victory in the ninth edition of the T20 World Cup. Not even the legendary MS Dhoni could achieve the feat.

Virat Kohli’s unique record:

Virat Kohli has become the second Indian player, after Yuvraj Singh, to win all the ICC trophies in the limited-overs format as well as the Under-19 World Cup. Before winning the T20 World Cup, Virat Kohli had won the Under-19 World Cup and the ODI World Cup. In 2008, he led India to their second Under-19 World Cup. Incidentally, India had defeated South Africa on that occasion as well.

In 2011, Kohli was part of the Indian team that won the ODI World Cup. Two years later, he helped India win the Champions Trophy for the second time. Yuvraj Singh also won all the trophies but the Champions Trophy was shared with Sri Lanka. On the other hand, MS Dhoni won all the ICC trophies in international cricket but failed to win the Under-19 World Cup.

Virat Kohli will now be eyeing the ICC Test Championship trophy to complete the complete set. India qualified for the finals in the last two editions but ended up on the losing side and this time they hope to go all the way.

Meanwhile, the former Indian captain also announced his retirement from T20Is. Soon after the victory in the final, Kohli announced that the game was his last in T20Is. Later, in the post-match press conference, Rohit Sharma also announced his retirement from T20Is.