Virender Sehwag, Diana Edulji and Aravinda de Silva inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

Alastair Cook announces retirement from professional cricket

“Three greats of the game have become the latest members added to the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame,” the ICC wrote in its statement.

A pioneer of women’s cricket, Edulji became the first Indian woman in the ICC Hall of Fame.

“To begin with, I would like to thank the ICC and the jury for selecting me to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame 2023,” Edulji said. “It is indeed a great honor to be the first Indian cricketer to be inducted and join a galaxy of male and female cricketers from around the world.

“I am delighted to have been considered for this award. It is not only a proud moment for me, my family and friends but also for the BCCI and Indian Women’s Cricket.”

Former India captain Edulji played 20 Tests and 34 ODIs in a career that spanned three decades. As a left-arm spinner, he took 107 wickets across all formats. She later made an impact as an administrator, working to increase employment opportunities for women cricketers in India.

“It is perhaps off the field where Edulji has made an even greater impact, having played an important role as a trailblazer for Indian women’s cricketers for many decades,” the ICC wrote.

An explosive opener, Sehwag played 104 Tests, 251 ODIs and 19 T20Is for India and was part of the teams that won the 2011 ODI World Cup and the 2007 T20 World Cup.

“I would like to thank the ICC and the jury for granting me this honor,” Sehwag said. “I feel extremely grateful to have spent so much of my life doing what I loved most: ‘hitting the cricket ball’.”

He scored 8,586 runs in Tests, with 23 centuries to his name. He was the first Indian to reach a triple century in Tests, and among only four players to surpass the 300-run mark twice in the format. The others in that exclusive club? Don Bradman, Brian Lara and Chris Gayle.

His strike rate of 82.23 is a testament to how he not only scored a ton of runs but also did so in a short time.

While his ODI exploits were still moderate in comparison, Sehwag managed 8273 runs at a strike rate of 104.33 with 15 centuries. His score of 219 against the West Indies remains the third highest in the format.

He accumulated 6361 runs in 93 Tests and scored 9284 runs in 308 ODIs.

“I am filled with deep gratitude as I accept the immense honor of being inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. This achievement is a tribute to the dedication, sacrifice and love that has shaped my cricketing journey” said de Silva. “My family, my parents, my sister, my wife and my children are my anchor and deserve the deepest gratitude for their unwavering support and sacrifice, which have propelled me towards success. My friends, firm companions in my ups and downs, have been my pillars of strength.

“To my coaches, teachers, fans and followers, your tireless faith in me has fueled my drive to succeed. My mentors and captains have guided and inspired me, and my teammates have been my extended family on this incredible journey. To the I have played against, thank you for enriching my game.

“My sincere thanks to the ICC and the Hall of Fame voting committee for this extraordinary recognition. I share this honor with everyone who has supported and trained me.”