Watch: Controversy arises as Mark Wood claims to have caught Quinton de Kock but third referee denies it in ENG vs SA clash

0
13
Mark Wood and Quinton de Kock


South African batsman Quinton de Kock continued his golden touch with the bat in the ongoing T20 World Cup 2024 match against England. The Super 8 match between the teams is underway at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in Gros Islet, Saint Lucia.

Quinton de Kock has put South Africa in a strong position in the ongoing match against England. The opening batsman played some magnificent shots in his innings and put the England National Cricket Team behind at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in Gros Islet, Saint Lucia.

Quinton de Kock, however, was about to get going in the ninth inning, but Mark Wood’s college error saved him. It was during the second ball of the ninth over when Adil Rashid bowled a delivery outside leg. The batsman took a sweep in the air and it looked like it would be an easy catch.

But Mark Wood took a couple of steps forward and that cost him. The ball came very low and he caught it but the ball touched the ground according to the third referee. The England pacer, however, was not convinced and later chatted with the umpires, claiming that he had his fingers under him.

But his argument was not justified as replays showed the ball was on the ground when Quinton de Kock got a reprieve. Here is the video:

More to continue…