Watch: Sachin Tendulkar presents special jersey to Rohit Sharma as he becomes first MI player to play 200 IPL games

Sachin Tendulkar presents jersey to Rohit Sharma

Rohit SharmaOn Wednesday (March 27), he became the first player to play 200 matches for Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League (IPL). He achieved an incredible milestone during the match against Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

Incidentally, Rohit Sharma had made his IPL debut in 2008 at the same venue while playing for the now defunct Deccan Chargers. He represented the Deccan Chargers from 2008 to 2010 before being signed by the Mumbai Indians. The right-handed batsman has been plying his trade for the Mumbai-based team ever since.

Ahead of his 200th match, Rohit Sharma received a special commemorative jersey from none other than the legendary Sachin Tendulkar. The former India batsman handed over the jersey to his former teammate during the team’s pre-match meeting.


Rohit Sharma became the third cricketer in IPL history to play 200 matches for a franchise. The other two players are Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni. Kohli was the first to achieve the feat followed by Dhoni. So far, Kohli has played 239 matches for Royal Challengers Bengaluru, while Dhoni has played 222 matches for Chennai Super Kings.

Overall, Dhoni holds the record of playing the most number of games in the IPL. The former Indian captain has played 252 matches so far and is the only player to have crossed the 250 match mark. He is followed by Dinesh Karthik and Rohit Sharma, who have played 244 matches each so far.

Rohit Sharma’s record for Mumbai Indians:

Rohit Sharma has been one of the most decorated batsmen for Mumbai Indians. No other player has scored more runs than him for the franchise. In the IPL, he scored 5084 runs for MI. In total, he scored 5357 runs for the team. Kieron Pollard is second on the list with 3915 runs.

Rohit Sharma also led the team from 2013 to 2023. In 2013, he led MI to their first IPL title. Under his captaincy, MI became the first team to win the tournament three, four and five times. In 2023, Hardik Pandya replaced him as team captain.