Watch: Virender Sehwag turns back the clock with a quick knock in IVPL

Virender Sehwag

Former India opener Virender Sehwag He returned to the cricket field as a batsman in the ongoing Indian Veteran Premier League (IVPL). The Indian great is plying his trade with the Mumbai champions in the competition.

On Wednesday (February 28), he led champions Mumbai to a resounding victory over VVIP Uttar Pradesh at the Shaheed Vijay Singh Pathik Sports Complex in Greater Noida. The Mumbai champions thrashed VVIP Uttar Pradesh by eight wickets in the eleventh game of the inaugural IVPL.

Suresh Raina, Virender Sehwag’s former teammate in India, won the toss and decided that his team, VVIP Uttar Pradesh, would bat first. They posted a competitive total of 176/6 in the allotted 20 overs. Opener Anshul Kapoor was his team’s top scorer, scoring an unbeaten 87 off 59 balls with the help of seven fours and four sixes.

Captain Raina could not continue and was dismissed for 1. Rohit Prakash Srivastava (30) and Puneet Bisht (26) also made useful cameos for their team. For Mumbai, Peter Trego and Afroz Khan got two wickets each.

Virender Sehwag leads from the front:

Chasing 177, the Mumbai champions needed a good start and their captain Virender Sehwag rose to the occasion. He and Phil Mustard added 63 runs for the first wicket to give their team a solid start in the chase. Monu Kumar broke the stand by dismissing Mustard for 26 to give Uttar Pradesh a much-needed breakthrough.

Two runs later, Virender Sehwag was also dismissed but before his departure, he turned back time by playing some trademark shots. Widely regarded as one of the most aggressive openers of all time, the former Indian cricketer scored 35 runs off 23 balls with the help of six fours. His promising knock was cut short by an unfortunate delivery in the ninth over.


After the first two matches departed in quick succession, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala and Peter Trego steadied the ship towards Mumbai and shared an unbeaten stand to win the match. They shared an unbeaten stand of 112 runs for the third wicket as the Mumbai champions chased down the total in 19 overs. Jhunjhunwala scored an unbeaten 69 off 38 balls while Trego remained unbeaten on 41 off 29.