"We need to get the players out of here." – Jay Shah gives a worrying update as India team remains stranded in Barbados due to Hurricane Beryl

Hardik Pandya, Rohit Sharma, Jay Shah

Team India remains stranded in Barbados due to Hurricane Beryl. India was scheduled to leave the island nation on Monday (July 1) after the conclusion of the ICC T20 World Cup final.

Since the final will take place on Saturday (June 29) and Sunday is the reserve day, India was scheduled to board the flight on Monday. However, their departure has been further delayed due to the extremely dangerous hurricane.

According to CNN, Hurricane Beryl is ravaging the Windward Islands as an extremely dangerous Category 4, generating violent winds, intense rains and potentially deadly storm surge after making landfall on Monday. It is the strongest known hurricane to have passed through this region, according to NOAA data dating back to 1851.

Dangerous weather conditions forced the cancellation of flights in Barbados. As a result, Team India had no option but to stay in Barbados. The members of the Indian team hope that the situation improves soon so that they can leave for India and celebrate the monumental triumph in their homeland.

Jay Shah offers an update:

As fans in India desperately wait for their heroes to land in the country with the World Cup trophy, BCCI secretary Jay Shah has given an update. Shah is also stuck in Barbados along with the team and said the board’s top priority is to ensure the safety of the players first.

“Like you, we are also stuck here. First, we have to see how to get the players and everyone out of here safely, and then we will think about the felicitation on arrival in India,” the BCCI secretary told PTI.

The BCCI was hoping to arrange a charter flight to get the team out of Barbados but could not execute the plans due to the closure of the airport. The news agency further reported that the board is also trying to get out Indian media travelling to the hurricane-hit region.

Reaching the final, India beat South Africa by 7 runs in a thrilling match to clinch the T20 World Cup title after a long gap of 17 years. India’s first victory in the T20 World Cup came back to the inaugural edition in 2007. The latest triumph has made India the third team after the West Indies and England to win the competition twice.