"We want to enjoy this very special moment." – Rohit Sharma invites fans to victory parade in Mumbai

Rohit Sharma

Team India captain Rohit Sharma has invited fans to the victory parade in Mumbai to celebrate the victory in the recently concluded ICC T20 World Cup 2024.

The winning Indian team will land in the country on Thursday morning. While they were scheduled to leave Barbados on Monday (July 1), their departure was delayed due to Hurricane Beryl. All flights were cancelled and the airport was also closed due to the weather conditions.

The Men in Blue finally made it out of Barbados on Wednesday on a special flight organised by the BCCI. The team will land in Delhi early on Thursday and meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the national capital before leaving for Mumbai. Later in the evening, the victorious Indian team will take part in a parade on open-top buses.

Rohit Sharma confirmed the date and timing of the parade while addressing X to invite fans to the much-awaited event. The Indian star confirmed that the parade will take place from Marine Drive to the iconic Wankhede Stadium. He also announced that the event would begin at 5:00 pm

“We want to enjoy this special moment with all of you. So let’s celebrate this victory with a victory parade at Marine Drive & Wankhede on 4th July from 5:00 pm onwards,” wrote Rohit Sharma on X.

A recent report stated that the BCCI will also hand over the prize money of Rs 125 crore to the Indian team during the event. The BCCI had organised a similar celebration in 2007 when MS Dhoni-led India won the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup.

Rohit Sharma retires from T20Is:

Fans will surely be eager to attend the event and give a grand send-off to Rohit Sharma as well after he announced his retirement from T20Is. Speaking at the post-match press conference after the final, the veteran batsman confirmed that the game against South Africa was his last in the shortest format. Apart from him, Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja have also retired from T20Is.

Reaching the final of the T20 World Cup, India defeated South Africa by 7 runs in a thrilling match to end their long wait for an ICC trophy. Batting first, India scored 176/7 before restricting South Africa to 169/8. The win also made India the third team after West Indies and England to win the T20 World Cup twice.

India’s next assignment in T20 is the five-match T20I series against Zimbabwe, which begins later this week. The selectors have named a young squad for the series. Shubman Gill will lead the Indian reserve team during the series.