Banned cricketer included in Sri Lanka announcing squad for Bangladesh T20I series

Sri Lanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Charith Asalanka,

Sri Lanka Cricket on Wednesday (February 28) announced the 17-member strong squad for the upcoming T20I series against Bangladesh. The two teams will face each other in the three-match T20I series before the ODI and Test series.

Wanindu Hasaranga has been named captain of the Sri Lanka team for the three-match T20I series against Bangladesh. However, he will miss the first two matches of the series due to the sanction he received from the ICC after violating the code of conduct against Afghanistan. He was suspended after arguing with umpires over the no-ball saga.

Charith Asalanka has been named vice-captain of the team and is expected to lead the team in the first two matches in the absence of Wanindu Hasaranga. He would hope to lead from the front and help his team win the first two games to seal the series before the regular captain returns for the final game.

Kusal Mendis, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Perera and Sadeera Samarawickrama are the frontline batsmen of the team. They will be extremely crucial for the series team. Many would depend on them because they would want to take responsibility.

Sri Lanka has also named quite a few all-rounders in the team. Dhananjaya de Silva will be a spin bowling all-rounder while veteran Angelo Mathews and Dasun Shanaka are the team’s two fast bowling all-rounders for the three-match T20I series against Bangladesh.

The team is quite similar to the one that fielded in the recently concluded T20I series against Afghanistan. Akila Dhananjaya Maheesh Theekshana and Jeffrey Vandersay will be the three spinners in the team along with Kamindu Mendis who will act as an all-rounder.

Sri Lanka have also named a fairly strong pace bowling attack. Matheesha Pathirana, Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Untilhara and Binura Fernando will be the four fast bowlers in the team.

The series between the teams will begin on March 4. The second match will be played on March 6 followed by the last match on March 9. All matches will be played in Sylhet. After that, two teams will face each other in a three-match ODI series and a two-Test series.

The three-match T20I series between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will be a great opportunity for both teams to prepare for the T20 World Cup 2024. The event will be played in June in the United States of America and the Caribbean. Both teams would be eager to win and start their preparation on a high.

Sri Lanka squad for T20I series against Bangladesh

Here is the Sri Lanka squad for the T20I series against Bangladesh:

Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Maheesh Theekshana, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Untilhara, Matheesha Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando, Kamindu Mendis, Avishka Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay.

T20I Series Schedule:

1st T20I: March 4

2nd T20I: March 6

3rd T20I: March 9,