“Gautam Gambhir era”: Twitter reacts as KKR demolishes DC to become leader in IPL 2024

DC vs KKR, Delhi Capitals (DC), vs Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

On Wednesday, April 3, the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 hosted the Delhi Capitals (DC) vs Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) match, which was the 16th game of the current edition of the competition. The DC vs KKR game was held at the Dr. YS Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam.

Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss, elected to bat first and brought Angkrish Raghuvanshi into the playing XI. Their rival had to make a forced change in the team as the star player of the last match, Mukesh Kumar, was ruled out with an injury and was replaced by Sumit Kumar.

Kolkata Knight Riders’ (KKR) opening batsmen Phil Salt and Sunil Narine were, as expected, extremely aggressive. In the first two overs, they registered 7 and 10 runs respectively, but they started the carnage from the third over.

In overs 3, 4, 5 and 6, KKR posted 15, 26, 12 and 18 runs to finish the powerplay with a score of 88/1. During this period, they also lost the wicket of Phil Salt, who was back in the hut after scoring 18 runs off 12 balls.

18-year-old Angkrish Raghuvanshi was surprisingly promoted to batsman at number 3 position and repaid the faith of Gautam Gambhir and Chandrakant Pandit by playing an exceptional innings. He batted at a strike rate of 200 and was involved in an excellent 104-run stand with Sunil Narine, who was firing with all his guns.

Narine looked set to score his first IPL ton as he was going berserk. However, he fell 15 runs short of the feat and was cleaned up by Mitchell Marsh in the 13th over. In the next over, Raghuvanshi also got out.

Sunil Narine scored 85 runs off 39 balls, including 7 fours and 7 sixes, while Angkrish Raghuvanshi scored 54 runs off 27 balls, including 5 fours and 3 sixes. The innings of the top-order batsmen were followed by the sensational innings of Andre Russell and Rinku Singh.

KKR’s top-order finishers went berserk against Delhi Capitals’ (DC) bowling unit and looked set to surpass Sunrisers Hyderabad’s record for highest score in Indian Premier League (IPL) history. Russell smashed 41 runs off 19 balls and Rinku smoked 26 8-balls to propel KKR to 272/7.

Chasing the target, Delhi Capitals (DC) got off to the worst possible start. Prithvi Shaw, Mitchell Marsh, Abishek Porel and David Warner were sent back to the hut in 5 overs.

After that, Tristan Stubbs and Rishabh Pant saved DC from an embarrassing defeat with their half-centuries and added 93 runs together. However, after the dismissal of the aforementioned batsmen, things turned ugly for Delhi, and they were bowled out for 166 in 17.2 overs. KKR won the match by 106 runs to reach the top of the points table.

Here’s how fans on X reacted after the DC vs KKR IPL 2024 clash: