Jake Fraser-McGurk’s fate sealed as Australia squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024 announced


Australia, on Wednesday (May 1), announced its 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024, scheduled to be played in June in the United States and the Caribbean.

The winners of the 2021 T20 World Cup have been handed big decisions as they seek their second title. They have left out veteran batsman Steve Smith and young sensation Jake Fraser-McGurk for the main event. Smith has participated in four editions of the T20 World Cup so far.

Incidentally, his first appearance in the T20 World Cup came in 2010, which was also held in the Caribbean. Later he also played in the 2016, 2021 and 2022 editions. In total, he played 19 matches in the T20 World Cup and managed to score a modest 190 runs at an average of 19.

Fraser-McGurk is another notable absentee from Australia’s squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024. Many expected him to be part of the squad after his impressive exploits in the ongoing IPL 2024. Playing in the IPL for the first time, Fraser-McGurk has smashed 259 runs in 6 games at a strike rate of 233. He has hit three half-centuries, including two fifties off 15 balls.

Australia squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024:

Cameron Green and Ashton Agar have been named in Australia’s squad. Not many expected them to play in the World Cup after their long absence from the Australian T20I team. While Green has not played a T20I since November 2022, Agar’s last T20I appearance was in October 2022.

Meanwhile, Mitchell Marsh has been confirmed as Australia’s captain for the tournament. The all-rounder recently suffered a hamstring injury and had to return home from the IPL, where he was playing for Delhi Capitals. He was subsequently ruled out of the ongoing IPL 2024.

“It has been an immense privilege to play for my country and now it is an even greater honor to lead the team to a World Cup,” Marsh said.

“We’ve had great success of late and I’m hopeful that will continue in what looks like a very open tournament,” he added.

Meanwhile, David Warner has been included in the squad despite his struggles in the ongoing IPL. Travis Head is also part of the team after his impressive performances for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL. Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis will be other versatile options in the team in addition to Green, while Tim David will be the finalist.

Australia has chosen Matthew Wade and Josh Inglis as the team’s goalkeepers. For the spinning department, Australia has fielded two frontline spinners in Adam Zampa and Agar while Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Nathan Ellis are the team’s frontline pacers.

Australia squad for T20 World Cup:

Mitch Marsh (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.