Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup 2024 leaked ahead of official announcement


While Pakistan is yet to announce its 15-member squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, a report in a leading Pakistani media outlet revealed the squad.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) will announce the team in the next 24 hours as the deadline to submit the team is May 25. Pakistan team management was reportedly waiting for the first T20I against England to conclude before taking the final call. However, the game that was scheduled for Wednesday (May 22) was canceled without a single ball being bowled.

And before the team announcement, Cricket Pakistan leaked the 15-member squad. The report claims that players like Hasan Ali, Salman Ali Agha and Mohammad Irfan failed to make the cut. The selectors reportedly want to have a mix of youth and experience in the team.

Also Read: WI vs SA Dream11 Prediction Today Match 1st T20I 2024

This is why young talents like Abrar Ahmed and Saim Ayub, as well as experienced activists like Mohammad Amir and Imad Wasim, have been included in the team. Babar Azam will lead the team while wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Rizwan has been named as his deputy.

Here is the leaked Pakistan squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024:

Babar Azam (Captain), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan.

Pakistan group and matches in ICC T20 World Cup 2024:

Pakistan are in Group A of the T20 World Cup 2024 alongside arch-rivals India, Canada, Ireland and co-hosts the United States. They will begin their campaign against the United States on June 6 in Dallas. It will be followed by the high-voltage clash against India on June 9 in New York.

Pakistan will face Canada and Ireland in their last two matches. The Men in Green will be desperate to go all the way this year after coming close in the last two editions. In 2021, they bowed out of the T20 World Cup at the semi-final stage after losing to eventual winners England. In 2022 they qualified for the final, but lost the match against England.