“Pretty scandalous for the guys who had to stay back”: Mitchell Marsh slams India-Australia T20I series schedule


All-rounder Mitchell Marsh criticized the scheduling of the five-match T20I series between India and Australia that began just four days after the World Cup final. Marsh expressed hope that future programming will avoid such rapid changes after major events.

Mitchell Marsh, along with other Australian players from the World Cup-winning team, opted out of the series. David Warner also later retired from the series. However, seven players, including Steve Smith, Adam Zampa and Glenn Maxwell, stayed in India.

Ahead of the third T20I in Guwahati on November 28, Australia made significant changes to the team by sending six players home. Zampa and Smith left before the second match, while Maxwell, Stoinis, Inglis and Abbott returned to Australia after the third T20I match.

Travis Head is the only player from Australia’s World Cup team still in T20Is. The left-handed batsman did not play in the first two matches of the T20I. He provided quick starts for the team on the power play, recording scores of 35 (18) and 31 (16) in the next two games.

The boys just won a World Cup – Mitchell Marsh

speaking to SEN Radio’s Mitchell Marsh described the schedule of the India-Australia T20I series as “scandalous”. Marsh recognized that the players, who had just won a World Cup, deserved time to celebrate with their families.

“Yes, it was quite infuriating for the boys who had to stay behind. It’s a very fine line because we have to respect the fact that we’re playing for Australia and it’s a series against India, which is always very important,” Marsh said.

“But there is also the human side: the boys have just won a World Cup and they probably deserve to celebrate for a while and go home to their families. It’s interesting. It is to be hoped that many of these series will not be repeated after the big tournaments,” he added.

The Pat Cummins-led team will take on the Shan Masood-led Pakistan team in their next assignment, starting December 14 in Perth. Team Australia will then take on the West Indies in two Tests, three T20Is and three ODIs.

Also read: “Obviously, no disrespect”: Mitchell Marsh reacts to controversial ‘resting feet on World Cup trophy’ photo