"Really moved by…" – Rohit Sharma reacts to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s heartfelt tribute to him after the T20 World Cup triumph

Rohit Sharma, Narendra Modi

India captain Rohit Sharma has responded to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s congratulatory message after winning the recently concluded ICC T20 World Cup 2024.

India ended their long wait for the T20 World Cup title by winning the ninth edition of the competition last week under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma. The Men in Blue beat South Africa by 7 runs in the final to win the T20 World Cup for the first time and for the first time since 2007. The victory also made them the third team after West Indies and England to win the tournament twice.

Batting first, India recovered from 34 for 3 to score 176 for 7 in 20 overs thanks to former captain Virat Kohli’s superb 47-run knock. In reply, South Africa finished their innings at 169/8 despite being 151/4 after 16 overs. Hardik Pandya picked up 3 wickets while Arshdeep Singh and Jasprit Bumrah claimed two wickets.

After the monumental win, PM Modi spoke to Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Rahul Dravid on the phone before taking to social media to pen special messages for them. For Rohit Sharma, who announced his retirement from T20Is after the World Cup win, PM Modi wrote:

“Dear @ImRo45, you are excellence personified. Your aggressive mindset, batting and captaincy have given a new dimension to the Indian team. Your T20 career will be fondly remembered. Glad to have spoken to you today.

Rohit Sharma responds to PM Modi’s post:

On Monday (July 1), Rohit Sharma responded to Prime Minister Modi’s post on the world Cup.

“Thank you so much @narendramodi sir for your kind words. The team and I are very proud to be able to bring the cup home and we are truly touched by the happiness it has brought everyone home,” wrote Rohit Sharma.

Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma is not the only Indian player to announce from T20Is after the final. Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja also brought the curtain down on their long T20I careers after the World Cup triumph.

Rohit became the second captain after MS Dhoni to win the T20 World Cup as captain. He also became the only Indian player to win the tournament twice. The veteran batsman was part of the Indian team that won the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup in 2007.