South Africa women’s squad announced for India T20I

South Africa's Laura Wolvaardt

South Africa, on Monday (July 1), announced their squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against India. The series will be played from July 5 to 9. All three matches will be held at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

The visitors made just one addition to their squad who was picked for the ODI and the recently concluded one-off Test. They have added Chloe Tryon to the squad. Tryon has been called into the squad after recovering from a back injury that kept her out for a couple of months. She has already arrived in India and also had a net session in Chennai.

In another change, the tourists decided not to include Delmi Tucker and Nondumiso Shangase for the T20Is. Both all-rounders were part of the team for Tests and ODIs, but will now return home. Wicketkeeper Mieke de Ridder is also part of the T20I team. Last month, she had played in two of the three ODIs against India.

“We are excited about the 15-player squad that has been selected for the T20I series. We also have Chloe back in the team after recovering from injury. She brings a lot of experience to the team and we are looking forward to seeing her back on the field “said South Africa Women interim coach Dillon du Preez.

“We have our final three T20I matches against India. This will give us time to look at one or two options before we head home and begin our final preparation for the T20 World Cup in Bangladesh,” du Preez added.

South Africa looking to win the series:

South Africa will be desperate to win the upcoming T20I series after losing the ODIs and the one-off Test. They are yet to win a match on the tour and will be hoping to break the streak in the upcoming series. India won the ODIs 3-0 before inflicting a 10-wicket defeat on the tourists in the one-off Test.

South Africa squad for India T20Is:

Laura Wolvaardt (Captain), Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Nadine de Klerk, Annerie Dercksen, Mieke de Ridder, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Eliz-Mari Marx, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Chloeukhune, Chloeukhune Tryon .