Watch: Adelaide Strikers’ James Bazley completes outrageous boundary line catch in BBL 2023-24 knockout

Adelaide Strikers James Bazley showcases brilliance at the boundary

Adelaide Strikers managed to book a place in the 2023-24 Big Bash League Challenger and defeated Perth Scorchers by 50 runs in the knockout match. The Strikers eliminated the Scorchers from the tournament and will now face the Brisbane Heat in the Challenger on January 22. The winner of the match will face the Sydney Sixers in the final of the tournament.

Adelaide Strikers put up a brilliant bowling display and were able to defend 156 runs. The strikers wrapped up Perth Scorchers for 105 runs and Cooper Conolly was the last Scorchers batsman to fall against Cameron Boyce. On the second ball of the 17th over, Conolly came down from the wicket and tried to hit the bowler over long-on region. As the ball was about to become six, James Bazley took a brilliant catch at the boundary.

James Bazley caught the ball but lost his balance and threw the ball into the air. Bazley came back and completed a brilliant catch on the second attempt. This marked the end of the Perth Scorchers’ innings and they were eliminated from the tournament.

Watch: James Bazley catch helps Adelaide Strikers book spot in BBL 2024 Challenger

The Adelaide Strikers, who batted first, got off to a poor start when openers D’Arcy Short and Matthew Short were forced to back off after scoring six and thirteen runs respectively. Jake Weatherald attempted to level the Strikers innings by taking two wickets but was firmly positioned at one end. But when the cheap wickets fell into the hands of James Bazley, Harry Nielsen and Thomas Kelly, Adelaide continued to lose wickets at the other end.

After reaching a well-earned half-century, Jake Weatherald scored 56 runs off just 32 balls. The Adelaide Strikers scored 155/7 in 20 overs thanks to cameos from Ben Manenti, David Payne and Henry Thornton. While Jason Behrendorff and Andrew Tye finished the innings with one wicket each, Perth Scorchers captain Aaron Hardie and Cooper Conolly took two wickets each.

Sam Fanning and Marcus Harris of the Perth Scorchers put on 38 runs for the first wicket as they attempted to chase the mark. Harris returned to the dressing room for 8 runs, while Fanning was dismissed after 31 runs off 20 balls. Both Sam Whiteman and captain Aaron Hardie couldn’t muster much and left the field for two and six runs respectively.

Josh Inglis and Cooper Conolly attempted to revive the Perth Scorchers’ innings after they faced a batting collapse, but were also bowled out for 12 and 31 runs respectively soon after. The remaining wickets fell like a pack of cards as the lower order failed to contribute significantly to the team’s total.

For the Adelaide Strikers, Lloyd Pope was the top bowler and finished the innings with four wickets. Henry Thornton, David Payne and captain Matthew Short each took a wicket, while Cameron Boyce claimed three.

The Adelaide Strikers have only taken home the Big Bash League championship once, which was in 2018. Perth Scorchers, on the other hand, had won the title five times and were competing for a third consecutive trophy. But for now, his wish is just that: a dream. They will have to come back next season and try to win the competition.